IPL turns 10 is near and moods flip are actually obvious

It’s coming. But you sensed its presence already when the calendar ticked past March into April. Before that, there was a changing of the seasons when Steve Smith and Ajinkya Rahane walked off the Dharamsala pitch gaming smile.

Welcome to the Indian Premier League, now it is the 10th season and it is 47 days investment as it attempts once again to challenge our conventional wisdom of sports.

IPL turns 10

The season marks a defining period for the franchise. Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils have been associated with the IPL since inception but have no titles or a fan following to show.  Royal Challengers Bangalore are also old-timers without a title but the awesome players like Virat Kohli, Ab de Villiers, Chris Gayle, and Watson has at least a fan followers base that is why the team sponsorship revenues.

Chennai Super Kings, the other two-time winners, and inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals obviously cannot do anything to stop this and will serve out the last year of their suspension.

Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians benefited more in 2011 IPL, allowing them to build again benefit and the surprise is that Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir split four titles in 2012 and 2015.

The IPL recent teams Gujarat Lions and Rising Pune Supergiants close out their two years contract. In the last edition, Lions won 9 of their 14 league clashes. Then the team is in bad luck and they lost their both qualifier and the second playoff to crash out of the tournament. It was the bitter pill to swallow for them as they learned how hard it can be to sustain momentum in a long tournament.

Lions will bank on their batsmen to light up the tournament. Brendon McCullum, Aaron Finch, Jason Roy, Raina, Dwayne Smith and Dinesh Karthik will be playing for a team in Indian Premier League season 10, 2017.

Leave a Reply